Welcome to StockForums.info!   

Advertisments:

How to remain invested in a bear market?

Mutual Funds, Hedge Funds and ETFs

Postby tupac94 » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:37 pm

As we know that in NSE, we cannot short sell stocks on a delivery basis. It has to be squared up within the same day.

Another better option to play the downside is by buying put options.Here it can be done on a delivery basis.

I am new to trading and I want to know any other way(s) of how to remain invested for many days in a falling market?

1.Are there any (1)short ETFs , (2)bear funds ,(3) mutual funds?

2.Are there any other trading vehicles that can allow us to remain invested in the falling market on a delivery basis?
tupac94

Postby fitzwilliam66 » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:38 pm

As we know that in NSE, we cannot short sell stocks on a delivery basis. It has to be squared up within the same day.

Another better option to play the downside is by buying put options.Here it can be done on a delivery basis.

I am new to trading and I want to know any other way(s) of how to remain invested for many days in a falling market?

1.Are there any (1)short ETFs , (2)bear funds ,(3) mutual funds?

2.Are there any other trading vehicles that can allow us to remain invested in the falling market on a delivery basis?
purchase shares in cash
and sell them in forward.
squir up your sale anytime .
shares will be in your hand.
fitzwilliam66

Postby hayes » Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:47 pm

There are dozens of short ETFs, including "Ultra" short funds which are 2x short the index, and some are even 3x short the index. If you think the market as a whole is going down, those are good choices, as well as buying puts on one of the long index funds, such as the SPX.

If you're looking to protect your individual stocks, you could buy puts on your stocks, but for what you're wanting to do, I'd sell covered calls. That way you generate income, rather than spending money on the put premiums.
hayes